The American Board of Sleep Medicine (ABSM) is an independent, nonprofit organization whose certificates are recognized throughout the world as a credential signifying a high level of competence for sleep medicine physicians, PhDs, behavioral sleep medicine specialists and sleep technologists.

A primary goal of the ABSM is to make its certification examinations relevant for all stakeholders. The ABSM Board of Directors strive to improve training, establish the requirements for certification and set the standards for its examinations.

Certification by the ABSM has one objective -- to promote excellence in medical care for patients with sleep disorders. Certification represents dedication to the highest level of professionalism in patient care. ABSM certification is an added measure of expertise that provides a standard of excellence by which the public and members of government and regulatory bodies can identify skill, experience and competence.

Board of Directors

David Kristo, MD
Raman Malhotra, MD
Nisha Aurora, MD
Kelly A. Carden, MD, MBA
Douglas Kirsch, MD
Jennifer Martin, PhD
Eric Olson, MD 
Kannan Ramar, MD
Carol  Rosen, MD
Ilene M. Rosen, MD, MS
James Rowley, MD
Anita V. Shelgikar, MD
Steve Van Hout 
Executive Director